Marriage: A Look In The Mirror

As many young girls dreamed about their wedding day, I did not. Ever since I was a small child, I fantasized about the mystery of love or even a place of sanctuary in order to deal with a dysfunctional home. My mother was, in a young girl’s eyes, emotionally unavailable and seemed drained in everyday life. My dad was an angry tyrant, should anything have gone wrong even in the slightest. I couldn’t blame my mother for her fear; however I also couldn’t understand why she let him verbally abuse us, me and my siblings and occasionally our mother. My two younger sisters, I and our mother all lived in fear of a man that should have been a dad and husband.

In a young girl’s eyes, I began to hate marriage, and yet I still longed for a love that I felt truly existed. I just needed to find it.

*******

Now, I should give a little more history since I do not want to demonize my dad, however, I cannot help the history he has painted for himself in my eyes. He was not a Christian when my mother married him and I cannot say for certain when my mother was “saved” or how old of a Christian she was. She did get me saved at the age of 6 though. I do remember my parents going to church, but his hostility still remained and still does unto this day. I pray that he becomes victorious with Christ in controlling his anger issues.

*******

In my search of true love, I went about it all the wrong way – following the trail of society that led to a dead end, continuously and repeating mistakes over again in hopes that I would somehow bump into Mr. Right. It wasn’t until 2014 when I asked God the final question before I nearly called it quits with Christianity. “What is the absolute truth?” In my heart I was done going on my own strength and right then gave myself to Him as a living sacrifice and letting Him have full reign over my mind, soul and heart, as it said “do with me as You will.” I didn’t expect an answer so swiftly as the next day He had me play catch up with everything that was hidden from my understanding. I then began to really understand His word and didn’t know that I was being prepared for marriage here on earth and the real one with Jesus and His church bride.

 

Now I have a much better picture of marriage and how it should be in His eyes rather than the world’s glorified dating scene they call “marriage”. In light of scripture, marriage is about love, protection, guidance, and submitting to one another as Christ submits to the Father. Ephesians 5:21-33 is a great verse in explaining this.

I see many posts about married couples that are Christian that do not understand the word itself, and submission becomes something tarnished by worldly views. This is where, in my opinion, we have to look to God and always keep our eyes on Him in all aspects of our lives, especially marriage because Satan is looking to devour. 1 Peter 5:8-9

God has taught me great many things while on this adventure of “treasure hunting”, but what He’s taught me most valuable is the mirror effect heaven has on earth using the Bible, His word for His people. A heavenly marriage with Christ should reflect marriage here on earth. His love for us we should reflect to each other as brothers and sisters in Christ.

 

Leave a comment